NPCA's Park Advocate » Death Valley http://parkadvocate.org News and views of the National Parks Conservation Association Wed, 20 Aug 2014 20:48:05 +0000 en-US hourly 1 10 Spectacular Parks for Stargazing http://parkadvocate.org/spectacular-parks-for-stargazing/ http://parkadvocate.org/spectacular-parks-for-stargazing/#comments Tue, 05 Aug 2014 14:07:39 +0000 http://parkadvocate.org/?p=6967 As the days get shorter, stargazers have more opportunities to celebrate the night—and national parks offer some of the darkest skies in the country. If you have trouble seeing the stars from where you live, you’re not alone. Urban areas have become so bright that more than 80 percent of the U.S. population can no longer see […]]]> http://parkadvocate.org/spectacular-parks-for-stargazing/feed/ 1 Best of the ’Net: The Outer Space Edition http://parkadvocate.org/best-of-the-net-the-outer-space-edition/ http://parkadvocate.org/best-of-the-net-the-outer-space-edition/#comments Fri, 12 Jul 2013 13:05:05 +0000 http://www.parkadvocate.org/?p=3644 Our national parks remind us how diverse we are as a nation, where we come from, where we have been… but do they also show us what is unknown and yet to be discovered? This week on Best of the ’Net, we explore fun national park news around the web with an intergalactic theme. “A […]]]> http://parkadvocate.org/best-of-the-net-the-outer-space-edition/feed/ 0 Best of the ’Net: The Slow and Cute Edition http://parkadvocate.org/best-of-the-net-the-slow-and-cute-edition/ http://parkadvocate.org/best-of-the-net-the-slow-and-cute-edition/#comments Thu, 02 May 2013 19:10:53 +0000 http://www.parkadvocate.org/?p=3218 Best of the ’Net is NPCA’s weekly roundup of fun park-related stuff online. This week, we celebrate Death Valley at night, enjoy another top 20 list, get a good reminder to slow down and take things in, and catch a couple of celebrities showing their support for one of America’s amazing landscapes, among other things. […]]]> http://parkadvocate.org/best-of-the-net-the-slow-and-cute-edition/feed/ 0 VIDEO: Behind the Scenes of “Death Valley Dreamlapse” http://parkadvocate.org/video-behind-the-scenes-of-death-valley-dreamlapse/ http://parkadvocate.org/video-behind-the-scenes-of-death-valley-dreamlapse/#comments Fri, 01 Feb 2013 14:26:11 +0000 http://www.parkadvocate.org/?p=2568 Last week, staff at NPCA escaped for a few minutes into the desert—virtually, at least—as we marveled at the latest video by Sunchaser Pictures, “Death Valley Dreamlapse” (below). Little did we know that the film crew captured these solitary dunes and spinning, swirling stars by traveling to a remote valley of the national park in […]]]> http://parkadvocate.org/video-behind-the-scenes-of-death-valley-dreamlapse/feed/ 0 Author Shares His Love for the Darkest Skies and Most Brilliant Stars http://parkadvocate.org/author-shares-his-love-for-the-darkest-skies-and-most-brilliant-stars/ http://parkadvocate.org/author-shares-his-love-for-the-darkest-skies-and-most-brilliant-stars/#comments Wed, 30 May 2012 08:20:18 +0000 http://www.parkadvocate.org/?p=921 Paul Bogard has a great gig traveling around the world to ponder the darkness of night skies and the corresponding brilliance of millions of stars. Bogard, who is not an astronomer but a creative writing professor, was given a contract from preeminent publisher Little Brown to travel anywhere in the world for a year and […]]]> http://parkadvocate.org/author-shares-his-love-for-the-darkest-skies-and-most-brilliant-stars/feed/ 1